Uncategorized

Philly cheese and steak sandwich

Just had the yummiest steak sandwich for dinner tonight.  Hubby and I recently celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary and spent 2 nights away at the lovely Lyola retreat in Maleny.  On our way up we had lunch at The Coffee Club and hubby ordered the Philly Steak n Cheese sandwich for lunch.

Of course when we have something we really enjoyed for breakfast, lunch or dinner hubby and I always take a good look and a few notes so that I can try and replicate it at home and this was definitely one of them.

philly steak and cheese sandwich

 

 

So what is on this delicious sandwich you ask, well here is what you need:

  • Philadelphia cream cheese spread
  • rocket
  • char grilled peppers (capsicum)
  • steak
  • glazed balsamic vinegar
  • cheddar cheese
  • caramelized onions
  • ciabatta loaf
  • olive oil

Now you can find the char grilled peppers, caramilised onion and glazed balsamic vinegar in jars at your local supermarket (mine was Woolworth).  First of all you cook your steak to the way you like, rare, medium rare or well done.  For me I cheated I had a few pieces of minute steak and I slow cooked it all day in some beef stock.  It was so lovely and tender.

With the ciabatta loaf, splash 2 slices with some olive oil and toast one side of the bread.  Now all you need to do is build your sandwich.  For the first layer spread on a good thick layer of philly cream cheese and then top it with some rocket.

Your next layer is your peppers and then on top of that add your steak.  I sliced my steak into strips but if you wish you can leave it whole.  Grab your glazed balsamic vinegar and cover the steak like you would with tomato sauce (or just to your liking).  The next thing to add is your slice of cheddar cheese then place under your grill to melt.

When your cheese is lovely and gooey add some caramlised onion then pop on the lid (ciabatta bread) and enjoy.  I served this with yummy beer battered chips from McCains.

Let me know what you think or if you have a variation that is yummy!

Jennifer xx

 

 

Leave a comment